Make Monday the Start of a New Year!

new-years-eve-1789147_1280

Welcome to 2017!

I don’t know about you but 2016 was a big year for us! We had a baby, bought a house, and added numerous animals to our menagerie. Hopefully this new year will be slightly less eventful, although a house renovation, possible side jobs, and two toddlers should keep us plenty busy!

Everybody is starting 2017 out with resolutions. I personally don’t get the point since a person should continually evaluate their life and goals and adjust as needed. Waiting until January 1st to change something and then abandon it by spring–if not sooner–doesn’t seem productive. And, please admit it, no one keeps their New Year’s resolutions very long, or even to completion. So what’s a good alternative? I ran across this concept called My Intent, challenging you to choose a word to live by. While I like this idea, one word defining you and your life seems insuffient, like trying to tell a story with one sentence. It’s very hard to explain something with depth in one sentence or one word.

So I’m committing to one thing, one idea, for the New Year: to better myself as a person, spiritually, mentally, physically, as a mom, as a wife, as a daughter, and as a friend. I’m not exactly sure what this will entail or how I’ll achieve it but I’m committed to sticking to the idea. Only good can come from bettering oneself, right? I challenge you to come up with goals or resolutions similar to this instead of the usual diet, exercise, budgeting, what have you resolutions. Maybe something deeper but at the same time more vague will be easier to stick to and help you achieve greatness.

No matter your take on the New Year or resolutions, I wish you a great and prosperous 2017!

Leave a Reply

