40 Day Challenge

picture_20170301_220107657

Today is the first day of Lent. I’ve never been one to follow the Lenten tradition of giving something up for 40 days. I’ve tried it a few times halfheartedly and gave up, or failed, a week in. I understand the meaning behind it and while I’m not deeply religious, I like the thought of going without something to focus better on God and faith. So yesterday, I didn’t even realize Lent started today until I stumbled upon a challenge on my Facebook newsfeed.

The 40 BAGS IN 40 DAYS DECLUTTERING CHALLENGE caught my eye for two reasons: one, I like challenges and two, it seems like a good solution to our constantly cluttered house. I seriously have been working on making it a home for over six months now and some days I feel like I have gotten nowhere. Forty days to declutter sounded like a great way to finally get all the boxes unpacked and everything where it belongs!

So I slept on it, even though I was pretty set on the idea of taking on a challenge for Lent. I’m a pretty firm believer in things that are meant to be so I was even more convinced to start this challenge when a post from my church’s youth group service project of “40 Days of Giving” was near the top of my feed this morning. The two posts were so very similar, and could go so well together, that I just had to jump on board! What a great way to make life simpler and less burdensome, right? We will see!

These two challenges go right along with my New Year’s goal to better myself. I have read so many stories about women who feel really burdened and depressed because they are overwhelmed by stuff. I feel this way often, too. But by decluttering and simplifying their lives, these women come to know a new peace and freedom. Because that sounds really wonderful right now, and because life in the next few months needs to be more organized, I am excited to see how much 40 bags in 40 days changes my family and our lives. Not putting too much pressure on it or myself, by the way!

And just to take it one step further, I saw this Bible study for the month of March that goes perfectly with decluttering to find peace. Even though it’s only 31 days and not 40, I think it will work perfectly. Be sure to check back for updates, and if you’re considering a challenge for Lent, would you consider joining me in 40 Bags in 40 Days?

Leave a comment